Banana Oat Crunch Muffins

4 Oct

I sometimes don’t eat all the bananas I buy before they go bad, sound familiar?  To prevent them from rotting on my counter, I put them in the freezer where the skin turns black from the cold but the inside is not rotten or black!  The bananas get used up in smoothies and muffins.  They also seem to get sweeter.  There is no sugar in the muffin recipe except for the brown sugar in the crumb – the bananas are that sweet!

Here’s my muffin recipe:

 Banana Oat Crumb Muffins

1 cups all-purpose flour

½ cup whole wheat flour

1/3 cup rolled oats

1/8 cup soy protein powder

1/8 tsp cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 bananas, mashed

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1/3 cup butter, melted

 Crumb topping

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

a pinch of ground nutmeg

1 tablespoon butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).  Lightly grease 10 muffin cups, or line with muffin papers.  In a large bowl, mix together the white and wheat flour, soy protein powder, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. In another bowl, beat together bananas, egg and melted butter.  Stir the banana mixture into the flour mixture just until moistened.  Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.

Crumb Topping

In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar, 2 tablespoons flour and cinnamon. Cut in 1 tablespoon butter until mixture is well blended and resembles coarse cornmeal.  Sprinkle topping over the muffins.

Bake in preheated oven at 375 degrees for 18 to 20 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

I had some sliced almonds to use up so just before I put the crumb on some of the muffins, I put some sliced almonds on the muffins and after having one with almonds, wished I had some on all the muffins! 

4 Responses to “Banana Oat Crunch Muffins”

  1. Morgan October 4, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Those look and sound OUTSTANDING. I never eat bananas, and when my husband forgets to eat the ones he buys I have to throw them out. Never again == now I can use them to make something yummy~

    Today I am making navy bean soup. It’s 60 degrees out, YAY!

    Like

  2. Morgan October 4, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    The close=up is killing me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

