Tomato Veggie Fennel Soup

19 Nov

Tomato Fennel Veggie Soup is a soup based on what I had in the refrigerator – a lot of my soups

Homemade soup is one way to recycle food and not get bored with your diet - do you really want to eat pasta four nights in a row?

 are based on leftovers.  I was determined to use the marinara sauce before it spoiled (I forgot to freeze it) and there was some vegetable stock tucked away in the freezer and then I found the red pepper juice (when I grilled several large sweet red peppers, I saved the juices that dripped out of them and froze it thinking that I would add it to a veggie soup stock).  I also found a half of a white onion

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

½ cup white onion, chopped fine

2 ribs celery, sliced fine

4 cloves garlic, smashed

2 cups marina sauce

2 cups vegetable stock

1 cup roasted red pepper sauce

This is what I did:

Put the olive oil in the soup pot, along with the onion, celery, smashed garlic, and heated this mixture up on a medium heat for 3 or 4 minutes or until everything started becoming translucent.  Next I added the vegetable stock and the marinara sauce and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes.

I wanted to see what it tasted like and decided to gradually add spices until I got it right. I kept track of what I added and tasted in between each add.  These are the spices I added to the broth:

1     tablespoon dried oregano

1     tablespoon dried basil

1/8  teaspoon red chili flakes

½    teaspoon ground fennel seed

1/8  teaspoon ground sage

½    teaspoon thyme

and about 8 – 10 turns of the black pepper grinder

I simmered this for an hour and tasted it – Bellisima!!.  It was a little thick but when I finished the soup I would add the extra water.  After it cooled, I put it in the refrigerator for the night.  The next day, I finished the soup.  I added these ingredients.

½    cup sliced carrots

1     sliced zucchini

½    red onion chunks

1     cup sliced mushrooms

1     cup water

And then I decided to add simple baking powder dumplings.

1 cup white flour

1 tablespoon soy protein powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

2/3 cup milk

Sift dry ingredients together; stir in the milk until there is a smooth batter.  Drop 1 rounded teaspoonful into the boiling soup, cover the pot and let boil for 5 minutes and serve at once.  Makes about four large servings.

This recipe could easily be a vegan recipe – just substitute water for the milk in the dumplings.  If you were bold, you could try using mushroom broth or vegetable broth!

2 Responses to “Tomato Veggie Fennel Soup”

  1. Morgansilk November 20, 2010 at 4:39 am #

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

    Like

  2. westdeltagirl November 28, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Thank you very much! Sorry for the delay in responding, been offline for a few days as I purchased a replacement monitor – mine died! The Theme used for this blog is Bueno by WooThemes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

