Simple Banana Pancakes

10 Dec
bananas

bananas (Photo credit: Fernando Stankuns)

Is there a banana in the fruit bowl that you think you are going to put in the compost?  STOP!  Put it in your pancakes!

I didn’t use a special recipe at all.  I had an almost over-ripe banana and decided it to add it to the plain pancakes I was making.  I added a little extra coconut milk to the batter, mashed up the banana and added it to the batter.  If you normally use some sugar in your pancake batter don’t add any if you are going to add a banana – they get sweeter as the brown spots appear and even sweeter when you cook them!

When I’m making pancakes for breakfast – I try to make only what I can eat.  If you use one of the commercial pancake mixes – I strongly suggest that you must use at least one cup of the mix for a small banana (4-5″ long at most).  If they are bigger, you should use more mix.

Just because a banana has spots on the outside skin doesn’t mean it’s bad.  Use it for cooking instead or place it in your freezer in a container with a tight fitting lid! Notice how I said put it in a container?  Containers are better than plastic  or ziplock bags because you can wash the container easier than you can the plastic bag.  Anyways you should be avoiding using plastic bags as much as you can when you shop.

Check out my Zazzle store for shopping bags here!

2 Responses to “Simple Banana Pancakes”

  1. morgansilk December 11, 2012 at 5:40 am #

    Wish I liked bananas. Off for my 8-week RA infusion. Nothing happening around here worth noting……….

    http://www.morgansilkscarf.com

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Put it in a Pancake! « WestDeltaGirl's Blog - January 3, 2013

    […] Simple Banana Pancakes (westdeltagirl.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

