Pie Crust with Ground Flax Seeds

15 Jan

Pie Crust Rolled Out

I’m always trying to make a more nutritious pie crust since I love pies.  I’ve tried this same recipe on single crust apple pie and single crust mushroom pie and both times it worked beautifully!  I admit I haven’t tried it on a two crust pie yet so let me know if you try it – I’d love to hear about your results.
Flax seeds are high in Omega 3 fatty acids, fiber and phytochemicals and low in carbohydrates so it was a no-brainer to try adding it to a pie crust to make it more nutritious.  The olive oil should be frozen ahead of time; I put it in the freezer in a plastic measuring cup  the night before using and took it out an hour or two before using. The frozen olive oil prevents the oil from permeating the flour and makes it act more like butter (what I used to use).  

This recipe makes enough dough for two small single crust tarts (6″ or 7″).

1 cup flour white flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/8 cup ground flax seeds

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup frozen olive oil

3 or 4 tablespoons water

Add the flours, ground flax seed and salt into a bowl and mix it up with a spoon.   Add the frozen olive oil and use a pastry knife (also known as a pastry blender) to mix it up until the mixture is crumbly.  Add the water one spoonful at a time and mix it up by hand after each spoonful.  Don’t add the 4th tablespoon to early because you may not need it.  I divided the dough in half to fit my small glass 6.5″ pie pan.  Since I didn’t have any parchment paper, I rolled it out on aluminum foil and it worked just fine.

Fill the pie with your favorite filling and bake it as you normally would.

Sorry, I forgot to take a photo when the apple pie was done baking and remembered just before the last piece  was done.

Apple Tart 2 cpyrght sml DSC_4381

Here’s a close up view so you can see the crust better.

Apple Tart cpyrght sml DSC_4422

2 Responses to “Pie Crust with Ground Flax Seeds”

  1. WestDeltaGirl March 4, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    I should mention that I do not recommend using foil instead of parchment paper – it works fine in a cold kitchen such as mine in the winter. Come summertime, it probably won’t work very well at all – it may stick to the foil.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Compleat Apple Pie…Deconstructed | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife - January 28, 2013

    […] Pie Crust with Ground Flax Seeds (westdeltagirl.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

