WestDeltaGirl’s Art and Photography

12 May
Spring Bouquet  ©2013 afroditi katsikis

Spring Bouquet ©2013 afroditi katsikis

I’ve always been fascinated with birds and now that I live in the Sacramento / San Joaquin Delta, I finally became a birder. The winged visitors and permanent residents of the west delta are my inspiration!

Even though I earned a BFA in Photography at ASU studying with Jack Stuler, Eric Kronengold and Bill Jay; and studied with Les Krimms and Paul Diamond at State University College NY at Buffalo, my career path abruptly changed course and I pursued a career as a litigation paralegal with very little time to live my life or take many photographs.

I have always had a camera but haven’t always used it due to time constraints and in fact had not used digital until 2006 when a friend gave me a Lumix digital camera. Don’t know why I waited so long to convert to digital – but I’m still not ready to give up my Nikon F3! My life changed drastically after a car accident that didn’t seriously injure me but it woke me up to what I was letting pass me by and I started photographing Sherman Island.

Spring in the Delta ©2008 afroditi katsikis

Spring in the Delta ©2008 afroditi katsikis

Shortly after that, I became unemployed and had more time for photography here in the west delta. The Sacramento River Delta is a major stopover and destination for migrating birds, ducks and geese. It is not far from Sacramento or San Francisco yet isolated enough to be considered country living.

Egret flying over the river ©2008 afroditi katsikis

Egret flying over the river ©2008 afroditi katsikis

My first intimate knowledge of the delta was as a windsurfer during spring and summer months. After purchasing my home and spending the first winter here I came to appreciate its beauty year round. To the casual observer, it may appear as though the seasons do not change very much here, but the birds know and keep coming back when it’s their time to be here.

Winter on the Sacramento River ©2008As I got more involved in environmental issues plaguing our environment I began modifying photographs in order to express my fears of the future. These heavily photoshopped images are on my Fine Art America gallery: Altered Landscapes And Riverscapes. I feel as an artist/photographer I could help create some awareness about the problems plaguing earth, our home: air pollution, GMO agriculture, fracking and climate change.

View from Sherman Island ©2011 afroditi katsikis

View from Sherman Island ©2011 afroditi katsikis

Artists create art for many reasons and they have, throughout the ages expressed their concerns through their art by sharing the beauty of our planet, expressing their feelings about politics and current events. Writers write about they see and feel, while artists show their feelings and views through their art.

I hope you enjoy my photographs because I sure do enjoy making them.

CLICK HERE to visit My facebook page:  WestDeltaGirl
CLICK HERE to visit My Photo Gallery

2 Responses to “WestDeltaGirl’s Art and Photography”

  1. pinkiesurfer March 17, 2017 at 4:41 pm #

    Hello! I just happened upon the blog article that mentions your distinguished educational background, and was delighted to read that you studied under Jack Stuler, among others you have listed. Jack is my father, so when I find a mention of him online or in print, I feel compelled to connect! I hope that’s ok. I’m not sure if you knew, but Jack has passed away, in March 2015. Bill Jay too. Eric is doing fabulous though!!

    In honor of my father, I have started a foundation called the Jack Stuler Foundation – JSF. The money will go to help newly graduated MFA and BFA artists get going and stay motivated in their art careers, offering $$ awards, mentorsgip, support. Additionally, JSF will show Stuler art through various means so his incredible photographs continue to be seen by the public. Our humble beginnings can be seen at jackstulerfoundation.org.

    Thanks for allowing me to ramble. And thanks for the mention of your wonderful professors. Such amazing artists, Legends! I feel so lucky to have grown up my whole life around that bunch at ASU art department.
    Keep shooting,
    Sabina Kelly

    Like

    • WestDeltaGirl March 18, 2017 at 1:25 pm #

      Sorry to hear about Jack’s passing… I learned a lot about photography and large format cameras from Jack. I’ll check out the Jack Stuler Foundation org.

      Like

Leave a comment