Garbanzo Bean Soup

26 Oct
Organic Garbanzo Beans

Organic Garbanzo Beans (Photo credit: artizone)

Garbanzo Bean Soup from scratch.

Since I live alone, I’ve been experimenting with making smaller recipes for the single people who like to cook but don’t want quarts and quarts of leftovers.  This  a very simple soup made from dried garbanzo beans, my favorite beans.  If you try the recipe and decide you want to serve it to a large crowd, just double or triple the recipe.  The recipe does not call for any salt during cooking so don’t add any – salt will toughen up the outer casing of the bean – and besides, this soup  tastes great without any salt.

Ingredients

1 cup dried beans

4-5 cups water
(2 cups are used for soaking the beans, the other 3 cups are for cooking so vegetable broth can be used instead)

1 bay leaf

2 pinches of ground rosemary

1/2  teaspoon celery seeds

1 teaspoon ground cumin

2-3 sliced or crushed garlic cloves

1/8 cup fresh chopped parsley

2 tablespoons fresh finely chopped basil

olive oil to drizzle over the top when serving

ground pepper to taste

Preparation:

Rinse the garbanzo beans and pick out any bad ones.  Soak the dried garbanzo beans in 2 cups of water overnight.  (You don’t have to soak garbanzos overnight but if you do, they will come out much more tender and take less time to cook).

Pour the soaked beans, with their water, into a small pot with a cover.  Add the celery seeds, bay leaf, garlic, cumin, rosemary and parsley and bring to a slow boil before turning down the heat to very low.  Let it simmer for 1.5 to 2 hours, stirring occasionally and keep watch over the liquid so it doesn’t get too low.  Add more water if needed – make sure there is more liquid in the pot than the beans.

Take a masher and roughly mash the beans in the pot.  Stir in the chopped basil and let the soup cook down if it’s too watery; if it’s too thick, add more vegetable broth or water.

This recipe makes 2 large bowls of soup or 3 small ones.   I garnished my soup with a few fresh basil leaves and a drizzle of olive oil.

 

9 Responses to “Garbanzo Bean Soup”

  1. Teresa October 27, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    Thanks for including my hummus recipe in your links for other recipes to try. It’s really a great recipe. I made a pumpkin hummus recipe yesterday that even surpasses it! I’ve also been posting a lot of vegan soup recipes lately if you’re interested in looking at them.

    Like

    • westdelta October 27, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      I saw your recipe and will try it soon but I’ll be using dried garbanzos rather than canned. Meanwhile, did you see my post on Pita with Hummus:

      Pita with Hummus

      Like

  2. gratis sexdating November 20, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Hi there you have a good website over here! Thanks for posting this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up the good work I’ll visit your site again. Thanks!

    Like

  3. corporation offshore November 25, 2012 at 2:34 am #

    Unless canned without salt, precooked canned beans generally are higher in sodium than dry-packaged beans. Always thoroughly drain and rinse canned beans in a colander or strainer under cold running water before using them in a recipe. This may help lower the amount of any added salt and may help remove some of their potential gas-producing properties.

    Like

    • westdelta December 4, 2012 at 11:31 am #

      I don’t use canned beans but I do have some in the cupboard case of emergencies.

      Like

  4. Kitchenaid Food Processor November 27, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Hi, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this blog post. It was inspiring.
    Keep on posting!

    Like

    • Admin December 5, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      Thank you! I don’t post very often but lately I’m posting more as I revise my recipes to be Vegan since I am now Vegan.

      Like

  5. espresso maker target August 21, 2013 at 4:14 am #

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this
    amazing site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the info!

    Like

    • WestDeltaGirl August 24, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Thank you very much…I really should spend more time blogging…I have more recipes in progress…

      Like

Leave a comment